The Bitch in the Back Seat

The Bitch in The Back Seat

fear
from the moment
I found you again
nagging
biting bitch
in the back seat
mocking me
“You’ll lose him.”
SHUT up!
“He’s going to die.”
SHUT UP!
“You lose everyone that you
love this much.”

Oh God!

don’t think
don’t go to THAT place
that secretly knows
laughs at your sorrow
in the dark
reducing his magic
too soon
don’t want to know
my superstition…
can’t happen again
after all we’ve been through
to find ourselves
dissolving like ice

alive

momentarily both 17
smells of cottonwood
and the river
and we
finally
finally
touch as lovers
whisper our secrets
but
“SHE”
dances
shrouded in the shadows
of the bushes
mist in warm evenings
waiting
to breathe her cancer
onto his skin
shredding us
rending him

desperate to hold on
slipping from my hands
“I’m so sorry, Love”
he is crying
and the bitch laughs
and I lose myself
in
black water
drowning in air
that fills my lungs
and I can’t force them to stop
as the dirt hits his grave
she laughs

Fuck
You!

I scream,

even now you are alone
but I have his love
our love
and all you have
is nothing

silent
she goes
whispering her
poison
in another lover’s ear

Leave a Reply

